:) America

The North American macro-regions
The North American continent can be divided into the following six regions:

       Canada – Perfect combination of unspoiled nature and modern metropolises.
       Caribbean – Wonderful islands with white beaches and coral seas.
       Central America (continental) – A strip of land made up of 7 nations that separates the Atlantic from the Pacific Ocean (formally also includes the Caribbean).
       Greenland – An autonomous state but dependent on Denmark, Greenland is a vast island of barren landscapes and the midnight sun.
       Mexico – Motherland of the Maya and beautiful beaches.
       United States – Federation of states comprising mainland (central continental area), Alaska and the islands of Hawaii.


Central America
Territories and tourist destinations:
      Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama

Politically and administratively Central America is divided into 20 independent states of which:

7 belonging to continental Central America: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama
13 independent states were Caribbean islands: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Dominica, Jamaica, Grenada, Haiti, Dominican Republic, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago
In addition to the aforementioned independent states, the remaining territory of Central America politically and administratively also includes:

13 territories dependent on other independent states:
Netherlands: Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten
France: Saint-Martin, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Barthélemy
United Kingdom: Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Turks and Caicos
United States: U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico.


South American macro-regions:
By far the largest country in South America, both in terms of area and population, is Brazil, followed by Argentina. The regions that make up this continent are the Andean states, Guiana, the southern Cone and Brazil.

      Andean states – Includes Peru, Bolivia, Colombia, Venezuela and Ecuador, that is the group of countries that includes the territory occupied by the Andes mountain range, the second highest mountain range in the world.
      Guiana – It includes Guyana, Suriname and French Guyana and is made up of a vast plateau inclined towards the north, delimited by a flat coastal strip which continues east in the Brazilian territory and west in the Venezuelan one.
      Brazil – The largest and most diverse state on the entire continent.
      Southern Cone – Includes Argentina, Falkland Islands, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay, i.e. those South American countries that are below the Tropic of Capricorn. Geographically, a portion of Paraguay and the southern regions of Brazil also belong to this region: Rio Grande do Sul, Santa Catarina, Paranà and San Paolo.

Showing 1–12 of 953 results

Showing 1–12 of 953 results