UZ - Uzbekistan

Territories and tourist destinations:

Today’s Uzbekistan is divided into 12 provinces (viloyat in Uzbecho), plus an autonomous republic. The capital area has a separate administration.

 – Fergana valley – The most fertile and populous part of the country, but also the most unstable with different ethnic groups such as the Usbechs and those of Kyrgyzstan with frequent quarrels.
 – Northern Uzbekistan – Geographically dominated by the vast red sand of the seemingly infinite desert of Kizilkum and politically dominated by Karakalpakstan, the vast autonomous republic of Karakalpakstan, Northern Uzbekistan is pre-eminent in tourist circuits for the ancient city of Khiva in the silk road, and for the dying lake of Aral.
 – Samarkand and Bukhara region – This is truly the heart of the Silk Road, the passage along the valley of the Zeravshan River through the most important historical cities of Central Asia such as Samarkand and Bukhara and densely populated mainly by the Tajik ethnic group.
 – Southern Uzbekistan – The only mountainous part of the country, where Uzbekistan meets the mighty mountains of Pamir, is heavily populated by the Tajik ethnic group.
 – Tashkent Region – The country’s economic-political center focused on the capital, Tashkent.

Corasmia (Xorazm viloyat) – Province of just 6,300 km², limited by the Amu Darya river (the Oxus of the ancients) on the border with Turkmenistan. Khiva is the major attraction of this province whose capital is Urganch.
Karakalpakstan (Qaraqalpaqstan Respublikasi) – Autonomous republic in the western part of the country.
Navoi (Navoiy Viloyati) – Administrative province that occupies the Kyzyl Khum desert on the border with Kazakhstan.
Qashqa Darya (Qashqadaryo viloyati) – Another southern province.
Surkhan Darya (Surxondaryo Viloyati) – Southern province on the border with Afghanistan with the capital Termez.
Syr Darya (Sirdaryo Viloyati) – Mountainous province east of the capital.

Showing all 8 results

Showing all 8 results