IT - Friuli-Venezia Giulia

Friuli-Venezia Giulia is a special statute autonomous region of northeastern Italy.

To know
It is one of the three Italian regions, together with Trentino-Alto Adige and Emilia-Romagna, which recalls in the duplicity of the name the duplicity of its nature, as a union of two historical regions: Friuli and Venezia Giulia. Linked by a common past since the Roman era (Regio X), both Venetian and later Austro-Hungarian, they belong to the geographical macro-area of Triveneto with Veneto and Trentino-Alto Adige.

With Trentino-Alto Adige, Veneto and Emilia-Romagna it constitutes the geographical area of north-eastern Italy.

Territories and tourist destinations.
Friuli – It is the northwestern area of ​​the Region; it borders with Veneto to the west and south, with Slovenia and Venezia Giulia to the east, with Austria to the north and with the Adriatic Sea to the south. It extends from the Friulian Alpine arc to the sea and the lagoons of Grado and Marano, including between these two areas a large area of ​​fertile plain rich in water. Next to Italian, the Friulian language is widespread, recognized as an idiom by national laws; Slovenian is widespread on the Slavic border; in val Canale and in other small reduced areas we also speak German towards the border areas. Its main cities, after the capital Udine, are Pordenone, Latisana, Palmanova, Cividale del Friuli, Tolmezzo, Spilimbergo.
      Venezia Giulia – It is the eastern area of ​​the Region; it borders to the south with the Adriatic Sea and Slovenia, to the west with Friuli, to the east with Slovenia which also surrounds it to the north. Its main cities are, with the capital Trieste (which is also the capital of the whole Friuli-Venezia Giulia region), Gorizia, Monfalcone, Gradisca d’Isonzo, Grado and Cormons.

Carnia (Carnic Alps), Giulie Valleys (Prealps and Alps), Valcellina (Friulian Dolomites), Spilimbergo and Tre Valli (Carnic Prealps), Gemonese, Torre Valleys, Alto Livenza, Magredi, San Danielese, Natisone Valleys, Pordenone, Middle Friuli, Udinese, Manzanese, Collio, Lagunare, Aquilese, Goriziano, Trieste and Trieste Riviera, Trieste and Gorizia Karst.

The coast of Friuli-Venezia Giulia hosts the lagoons of Grado and Marano and the seaside resorts of Lignano Sabbiadoro, Grado and the Trieste coast.

The Friuli plain welcomes the cities of Pordenone, Sacile, Udine, Aquileia, Palmanova, Cividale del Friuli, Spilimbergo and San Daniele del Friuli.

The mountainous area is made up of the Carnic Alps and Prealps and the Julian Alps and Prealps.

On the eastern borders extends the Karst, a limestone plateau with numerous sinkholes and caves extended in Slovenia and Croatia. One of its sections consists of the Trieste Karst and the Val Rosandra.

Carnia is the mountainous region in the north of the province of Udine crossed by the Tagliamento river.

The Tarvisio or Tarvisiano area offers the greatest opportunities for lovers of hiking. The lakes of Fusine are two beautiful examples of alpine lakes. They were established as a natural park.

City of Friuli:
Udine – the main city of Friuli is in fact its capital. It took over from Aquileia and Cividale, which were the main cities of the region, when the seat of the Patriarchate of Aquileia was transferred to Udine. It was the capital of the Patria del Friuli until the conquest by Venice which left it a considerable architectural footprint. Monumental is the central Piazza della Libertà, with harmonious buildings. The castle, built on the site of the castle of the patriarchs of Aquileia, is a sixteenth-century building of powerful size.
Cividale del Friuli – The ancient “Forum Iulii” of Roman times gave its name to all of Friuli, of which it was the ancient Lombard capital before Udine. It is counted among the UNESCO sites among the prominent cities of the Lombard civilization in Italy.
Lignano Sabbiadoro – Seaside resort with various leisure opportunities.
Maniago – The city of cutlery.
Palmanova – Fortress city planned by the Venetians in 1593 to defend its borders with the Austrian Empire, is called the starry city for its polygonal star plan with 9 points. Since 1960 it is a national monument.
Pordenone – The great industrial and economic development has given rise to a vast area of ​​new neighborhoods alongside the old city. It has a beautiful historic center with mainly Gothic monuments. It is the home of the painter Giovanni Antonio de ‘Sacchis known as Pordenone.
San Daniele del Friuli – The city of Prosciutto.
Spilimbergo – The city has an important historical center which derives from a past of the crossroads of trade and the main center of the possessions of the Spengenberg counts: in the sixteenth century it was a cultural and artistic center where painters and writers worked.
Tolmezzo – In a wide valley in the Friulian Alps, the city is the most important center of Carnia and is therefore considered in fact the capital.

City of Venezia Giulia
Trieste – Capital of the FVG region, “capital” of Venezia Giulia. Although devoted to Italian character (it strongly pursued its belonging to Italy when in the post-war period it risked being annexed to the then Yugoslavia) it still maintains a Central European character which it comes from its long history as a border town (now on one side, now on the other) and a link between the Germanic, Slavic and Latin worlds. Its port is one of the largest in the Adriatic and Italy; its elegant urban planning, its embrace with the sea and the mountains behind it make it a highly suggestive destination for artistic and natural beauty.
Gorizia – provincial capital. Autonomous county with close relations with Venice, it was then inserted in the territories of the Austro-Hungarian empire. After the Second World War, now Italian, it suffered the detachment of much of its territory in favor of the former Yugoslavia, finding itself with some neighborhoods separated by the border between the two states.
Gradisca d’Isonzo – It was a Venetian city fortified against the incursions of the Turks; passed under the Habsburgs it lived its golden period during which it prospered becoming the county seat and greatly enriching its urban structure.
Grado – Already a Roman port for the trade of Aquileia, the ancient lagoon city has a respectable historical center. In contemporary times it developed an important seaside activity.
Monfalcone – – An important port in the Upper Adriatic, it has an imposing medieval fortress that recalls its origin as a fortified city.
Muggia – On the far reaches of the Italian territory on the Slovenian border, it has a remarkable Duomo, an interesting historic center and a good tourist port.

Other destinations:
Carnia – Arta Terme – Zuglio – Sauris – Prato Carnico – Carnic Alps.
Karst – Giant Grotto and Val Rosandra.
Collio – Territory with its main center of Cormons.
Green Caves of Pradis – A complex of caves accessible to the public, formed by the ensemble of a deep ravine dug into the limestone by the Cosa stream and by three caves connected to it in the municipality of Clauzetto.
Caves of Villanova – The main caves that open in the area of Villanova delle Grotte, a fraction of Lusevera.
Friulian Dolomites Natural Park – Valcellina, Val Cosa, Val Tramontina, upper Tagliamento valley, Claut, small winter sports center. UNESCO heritage.
Natural Park of the Julian Prealps
Palu di Livenza pile-dwelling site – UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Beaches and marina – A Latisana.
Valleys of the Natisone
Torre Valleys

Showing 1–12 of 34 results

Showing 1–12 of 34 results