IT - Lazio

Lazio is a region of central Italy.

To know:
Famous all over the world because here is the Italian capital Rome, Lazio is one of the regions richest in history and art, here in fact there are the major monuments of Roman civilization, considered world heritage. It is also the second most populous region in Italy after Lombardy.

Located along the Tyrrhenian side of the peninsula, it borders Tuscany to the north-west, Umbria to the north, Marche to the north-east, Abruzzo and Molise to the east, Campania to the south-east, to the west it is bathed by the Tyrrhenian Sea. Inside there is the small enclave of the Vatican City.

In ancient times, Latium meant the territory between the lower course of the Tiber river and the Liri river, and the central Apennines as the eastern limit.

When to go
To visit the cities and archaeological destinations of Lazio, the most advisable periods are March-June and September-October, given that in the height of summer it is very hot. November is generally rainy.

For recreational purposes (sea, mountains) are recommended all summer months, from May to October (swimming in the sea from June to September). Skiing can only be practiced in a few elevated areas.

Northern Lazio – Northern Lazio, sometimes also called Upper Lazio, is composed of:
Maremma Laziale – is the Lazio coastal area north of Rome whose main municipalities are Tarquinia, Tuscania, Cellere, Civitavecchia, Montalto di Castro, Cerveteri, Canino;
Tuscia – includes the remaining part of the province of Viterbo;
Sabatino – includes the area of ​​the Sabatini Mountains and the lakes of Bracciano and Martignano, in the Province of Rome.
      Eastern Lazio – Eastern Lazio is composed of:
Sabina – historical region in the Reatino that extends also in the neighboring regions of Umbria and Abruzzo;
Cicolano – territory in the province of Rieti, historically belonging to Abruzzo.
      Central Lazio – Central Lazio is composed of:
Roman coast coastal area composed of the municipalities of Fiumicino, Ostia, Nettuno, Pomezia, Ardea, Anzio.
Roman countryside area behind the municipality of Rome, including the territories of the Tiber and Aniene valleys and the upper Sacco valley;
Central-Lazio Apennines territory that includes the upstream communities of Aniene, the Simbruini Mountains, the Ruffi and Lucretili Mountains.
Roman castles territory that includes the municipalities of Albano Laziale, Ariccia, Marino, Frascati, Nemi, Rocca di Papa, Genzano, Velletri;
      Southern Lazio – Southern Lazio, sometimes also called Lower Lazio, is composed of:
Ciociaria – includes the territories of the province of Frosinone, up to the Liri river. The main centers (Frosinone, Veroli, Ceccano, Alatri, Ferentino) are characterized by very well preserved medieval centers;
Agro Pontino – narrow between the Lepini Mountains and the Tyrrhenian Sea, the Pontine countryside is a completely flat territory once the kingdom of the marshes and reclaimed during the fascist regime. And crossed by the Via Appia, a long and monotonous straight road up to Terracina. Isolated in the southwest corner is the Circeo promontory with the seaside resorts of San Felice Circeo and Sabaudia. The Pontine countryside is dotted with cities that arose as a result of the reclamation. In addition to Latina, the capital, and Sabaudia are to be mentioned Pontinia and Aprilia;
Monti Lepini – If the Pontine countryside hosts recently formed centers, the Monti Lepini welcome medieval centers, some with vestiges of the Roman era. Nestled between the Lepini and Ausoni Mountains, the valley of the Amaseno river welcomes the various urban centers of interest including: Roccagorga, Maenza, Prossedi, Roccasecca dei Volsci and Sonnino.
South Pontino – is the southern part of the province of Latina up to the border with Campania: from Fondi to Minturno. It includes the Gulf of Gaeta;
Valle del Liri – is the territory bathed by the Liri river, whose main municipalities are Sora, Isola del Liri, Fontana Liri, Campoli Appennino, Arpino, Fontechiari, Pontecorvo.
Cassinate – is the area that hinges on the city of Cassino, famous for the abbey of Montecassino, which for centuries has governed the territory called Terra di San Benedetto;
Valle di Comino – is a mountain area characterized by small villages, among which Atina, Casalvieri and San Donato Val di Comino deserve to be mentioned.
Urban centers
Rome – The capital of the Italian Republic also known as the Eternal City. Rome is often called “an open-air museum” and needs no introduction. From the ruins of the Roman Empire to the beauties of the Renaissance Baroque, every corner of the city exudes history and beauty.
Albano Laziale – It is one of the main centers of the Castelli Romani, which stands on the shores of the homonymous lake.
Anagni – Known for having been the papal seat and for this reason defined as City of the Popes, Anagni has a well-preserved historical center, embellished by the cathedral and the palace of Pope Boniface VIII, in which the famous outrage against the Pope said Schiaffo di Anagni took place.
Cassino – For centuries the administrative center of the ancient land of San Benedetto, the city develops at the foot of the hill on which the famous abbey of Montecassino stands, for which it is mainly known. However, it also boasts important evidence of its Roman past: amphitheater, theater, mausoleum, nymphaeum, urban walls of the Casinum archaeological park. With its Abbey of Montecassino, the monumental war cemeteries and the archaeological park of the ancient Roman city Casinum, the Martyr City, as it was defined after the Second World War, is one of the main tourist destinations in Lazio. It is a spa.
Frosinone – Often considered the capital of Ciociaria, Frosinone is divided into upper and lower cities. It has a well-preserved historical center and Roman ruins.
Rieti – Considered by the authors of the classical age, the geographical center of Italy (Umbilicus Italiae) was founded at the beginning of the Iron Age and became an important city of the Sabines; still today its territory is identified as “Sabina”. This capital has a characteristic medieval center, with partially intact walls and bordered by the Velino river which creates a suggestive landscape. It is a spa.
Tivoli – Tivoli boasts of being older than Rome, of which it shared the ancient glories. In addition to the ancient historic center, it can boast two UNESCO World Heritage Sites located at the gates of the city: the Roman Villa Adriana and the Renaissance Villa d’Este. It is a spa.
Viterbo – The historic center of Viterbo is one of the best preserved medieval centers in Lazio and includes a medieval district (via San Pellegrino). It also boasts numerous churches, squares with fountains, narrow streets surrounded by turreted walls that help to make the impression of having gone backwards over the centuries even stronger. It is called the City of Popes because it gave birth to numerous popes and was also papal seat for a few years. The Papal Palace is undoubtedly beautiful, a fine example of Viterbo’s Gothic style. It is a spa.
Other spas

Monterano canal
Castel Sant’Angelo – The center was already frequented in Roman times, as evidenced by the Terme di Vespasiano outside the inhabited area dating back to the first century AD.
Other destinations
Caves of Pastena
Natural monument of the Caves of Falvaterra and Rio Obaco

Lake of Bolsena
Bracciano lake
Vico Lake and Cimini Mountains
Pontine islands
The Pontine (or Ponziane) Islands are made up of two distinct groups.

West group

East group

Santo Stefano to the east

Showing 1–12 of 88 results

Showing 1–12 of 88 results